Mission Statement:

  • To provide quality, affordable community theatre accessible to all residents of the Sioux Empire; and
  • To provide hands-on learning experiences in the greater Sioux Empire community in all aspects of volunteer driven theatre performance and production.

SECT History

Believing that local theatre is vital to the fabric of the community, a number of local theatre enthusiasts began meeting in the Spring of 2003 to explore the possibility of funding a brand-new community theatre. After input from the Sioux Empire Arts Council, the business community, the City of Sioux Falls, and local artists and educators, the Sioux Empire Community Theatre (SECT) was born.

In the summer of 2003 SECT was formally organized and incorporated with the State of South Dakota. A Board of Directors was selected, and at the first board meeting the Board of members dipped into their pockets to come up with enough money for a Post Office box. In September 2004 SECT became a 501 (C) (3) organization.


Board of Directors

  • President: Darren Lee
  • Vice President: Chris Weigandt
  • Treasurer: Brenda Odle-Scott
  • Secretary: Dick Koch
Board Members
Ann Henkhaus
Steve Hirsch
Eric Johnson
Phil Kappen
Chellee Nemec
Jacque Rasmussen
Fred Reiner
Tina Beal
Jayden Portice 
Cheryl Wyant
  • Front of House Volunteer Coordinator: Bob Nelson

Board Minutes

January 13, 2014

February 17, 2014

March 15, 2014

May 12, 2014

Agenda June 9, 2014

Upcoming Board Meetings

Second Monday of the Month – 7:00PM | Orpheum Theatre (upstairs board room)

September 8th

October 8th

November 10th

December 8th